Wheelchair Rugby League Australia Incorporated Logo

Wheelchair Rugby League Australia Incorporated

About Wheelchair Rugby League Australia Incorporated

Wheelchair Rugby League Australia (WRLA) is a national non-for-profit sporting organisation for people with disabilities. WRLA was established in 2009 as an inclusive sport offering people with and without a disability the opportunity to compete in a variation of Rugby League.

WRLA’s mission is to enhance the health and wellbeing of people with disabilities through the sport of Wheelchair Rugby League. The key benefits of Wheelchair Rugby League for people with disabilities are assisting self-development, injury rehabilitation and community engagement.
WRLA runs seasonal Sunday competitions in Menai, Sutherland Shire, NSW at Menai Indoor Sports Centre across two Basketball courts. The eight teams consist of 44 players with a disability or amputation and 26 able bodied players. The teams are supported by National Rugby League (NRL) teams and hold the clubs names such as Penrith Panthers, Parramatta Eels, Canterbury Bulldogs and Newcastle Knights to name a few.

At the core of WRLA is the value of inclusion. Regardless of age, gender, race, ability, disability classification or amputation, all can play Wheelchair Rugby League at the same competitive level. This equal opportunity provides a sense of community and encourages education and awareness of disability and wheelchair sports.


PO Box 475 Lakemba NSW 2195
Lakemba NSW 2195

Local VRC: Volunteer Link