History Trust of SA Logo

History Trust of SA

About History Trust of SA

The History Trust of South Australia (trading as History SA) is a statutory authority reporting to Parliament through the Minister for the Arts, via the Minister Assisting the Minister for the Arts. It was established in 1981 under the History Trust of South Australia Act 1981 to encourage the research and public presentation of South Australian history and to safeguard South Australia’s material heritage.

History SA central administration is located at the Torrens Parade Ground, Victoria Drive, but its main public face is presented by three history museums – the Migration Museum, National Motor Museum and the South Australian Maritime Museum. History SA also manages an important community history program. History SA’s Board of eight trustees reports to the Minister for the Arts.

Under the History Trust of South Australia Act 1981 History SA is responsible for the following:
•researching and interpreting South Australia’s history
•preserving and exhibiting South Australia’s material history
•managing museums of its own and assisting the State’s community museums
•encouraging and assisting the work of South Australia’s historical societies
•providing policy advice to the Minister for the Arts on issues of relevance to South Australia’s history and material culture.


GPO Box 1836
Adelaide SA 5001

Local VRC: Volunteering SA&NT